7 Hand Gestures That Make You Look Like a Real Intellectual

It’s true: using these seven gestures can make you seem like an educated scholar or member of academia, too! Based on the dutiful research findings by Alice May Williams and Jasmine Johnson at Goldsmiths College in London. Let’s give them a big round of applause for helping even mediocre citizens master true tenure etiquette and doctorate credibility.

The Critical Whirl. "I’ve read too much, my brain is too full and  now I can’t get my words out." - Accelerate and repeat until idea unpacked.

The Critical Whirl. “I’ve read too much, my brain is too full and now I can’t get my words out.” – Accelerate and repeat until idea unpacked.

The Dialectic: "This is a dialectic and I’m going to explain it." - Use when expressing a shift from one thing to another. Highly infectious.

The Dialectic: “This is a dialectic and I’m going to explain it.” – Use when expressing a shift from one thing to another. Highly infectious.

The Backhand Slap: "I know I’ve said it before but I will say it again." - Use as a reinforcing gesture when critical opponent seems unresponsive.

The Backhand Slap: “I know I’ve said it before but I will say it again.” – Use as a reinforcing gesture when critical opponent seems unresponsive.

The Tiny Dialectic: "I’m making a very fine distinction." - Use when unpicking specific detail, or when too self-conscious to use "The Dialectic" gesture.

The Tiny Dialectic: “I’m making a very fine distinction.” – Use when unpicking specific detail, or when too self-conscious to use “The Dialectic” gesture.

The Point: - Use to direct everyone’s gaze towards a particular individual or object.

The Point: – Use to direct everyone’s gaze towards a particular individual or object.

The Shelf Sweep:  Use when explaining hierarchies or real  counter-culture as experienced in one's youth.

The Shelf Sweep: Use when explaining hierarchies or real counter-culture as experienced in one’s youth.

Picking up Small Ideas: Use when demonstrating rational thought process or when eloquently discarding a distasteful argument made by an average citizen.

Picking up Small Ideas: Use when demonstrating rational thought process or when eloquently discarding a distasteful argument made by an average citizen.

Source: http://www.wired.com/design/2014/01/use-hand-gestures-look-like-real-intellectual/#slide-id-401601

